Skip to navigation

Thursday, November 2, 2023– The Pinnacle

text- 100 years in sight

The Sight Center of Northwest Ohio


History of The Sight Center

Motivated by a belief that people who are blind could live and work independently, Joseph F. Clunk petitioned local leaders to establish an organization that would serve the blind community. Founded in 1923 as The Toledo Society for the Blind by members of the Lions Club, Toledo Rotary, Community Chest, and Chamber of Commerce, The Sight Center has remained committed to an ideal goal that all who are blind or have low vision will live with dignity and respect. Supported since its founding by generous  donors, tireless volunteers and dedicated staff, the organization has successfully navigated The Great Depression, World War II, societal changes and technological transformations to remain a strong voice, a trusted partner and a respected leader in service to the community.


Order of Program


London Mitchell, Master of Ceremonies


Sister Linda Pelagio, The Sight Center Board of Trustees

Voices From the Past

Featuring Bob Ulm, Cliff Smithers, and  Jacob King

Special Proclamation

State Senators Theresa Gavarone and Paula Hicks-Hudson

Looking Back

Tim Tegge, Executive Director, The Sight Center

Special Tribute to Madge Levinson

Presentation of the John Goerlich Distinguished Service Award

Randy Schimmoeller, Chair, The Sight Center Board of Trustees

Dani Moran, Program Director, The Sight Center

Sandy Alexander, Goerlich Family Foundation

Looking Forward

Tim Tegge

100 Glimpses: 1923

Closing Remarks

London Mitchell and Tim Tegge

Pre-program music provided by Corey Pappas

Thank you to our Sponsors

Diamond Sponsorship

Buckeye Broadband

Goerlich Family Foundation


Ruby Sponsorship

Area Office on Aging

Mark & Sandra Feldstein Foundation


Emerald Sponsorship

Dawn Christensen

Exceptional Leadership

Randy and Jamie Schimmoeller

Signature Bank

Trust Company Family Offices


Sapphire sponsorship

Eye Centers of Northwest Ohio

Franks N Butts Enterprises

Habitec Security

Premier Wealth

Quality Family Eye Care

Sylvania Lions

Taylor Automotive Family

Walman Optical


Founding Board of Trustees

Edward E. Evans, Chair, Dr. Walter H. Snyder, Vice Chair, Arthur Guild, Secretary, Katharine Geddes, Treasurer, Karl Alter, Frank B. Anderson, Stephen Mahon, Earl Newcomer, Clare Skinner, Pearl B. Thompson, Jessie Welles, William B. Welles


2023 Board of Trustees

Randy Schimmoeller, Chair, Angela Jackson, O.D., Vice Chair, Lyndi Sheets, Treasurer, Tony Burek, Amanda Caig, Stacy Franks, Brian Green, Dean Kopan, O.D., Ginny Martin, Sister Linda Pelagio, John Rozic, Rick Russell, Mile Spahr, Tim Tegge, Executive Director


Board Chair History

Edward Evans, John Goerlich, William Marti, Gerald Hazel, James Hackley, Carson Dye, John Lewis, Doug Austin, Todd Hoyt, Tom Pigott, Sakui Malakpa, Tom Zraik, Rebecca Vincent, Cynthia Roepke, Bruce Davis, Jennifer Scroggs, Cathy Sheets, Michael Spahr, Laurie Gross, Diane Ohns, Randy Schimmoeller


Picture of a man crossing a street with a officer. Casper Bihn utilizes a whistle to get assistance crossing a busy Toledo street. Circa 1925.

a man crossing a street with a officer. Casper Bihn utilizes a whistle to get assistance crossing a busy Toledo street. Circa 1925.

The John Goerlich Distinguished Service Award

In 1984 The Sight Center Board of       Trustees created the John Goerlich Distinguished Service Award to be given annually to a person who has unselfishly served the blind and visually impaired communities.

The Award is named for Mr. John Goerlich whose substantial personal and philanthropic contributions have allowed The Sight Center to flourish for many years.

The 1984 Board of Trustees also chose to honor John Goerlich by naming him the first recipient of the award that year. Tonight we will add another name to this list!

John Goerlich holds the award that was designed by Dominick Labino.

Executive Directors

Dr. Harry S. Will, Grace Jamison, Estelle Parsons, Linda Clark, Lyle Kirk, Don Norwood, Barry McEwen, Gordan Kohler, John Davies, Dawn Christensen, Stacey Franks, Tim Tegge


Two female members of the social group Happy Times hang out